The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-18-2015, 06:24 AM
Charter Member

Default What spray guy do you use?

I'm just starting out spraying; I'm using a Devilbiss Plus Gravity Feed HVLP conversion gun. It's a good gun, but basically an automotive gun. It seems to have a wide pattern which is hard to control for me. Frankly, I do better with a rattle can. I'm wondering if I should get a smaller gun. What do you folks use?
Old 07-18-2015, 07:23 AM

In my days of shooting high pressure, low volume with a compressor, I used an automotive Devilbiss gun. They are - or were - pretty commonly used for instruments. For their HPLV guns, there are a variety of nozzle types and orifice/needle sizes that can be used to give different spray size, wetness, atomization, etc. Probably there are also for their HVLP guns.

It may be that you need only change the nozzle and/or needle to get better results. You could contact Devilbiss, or do a bit of research on what they recommend for the finish (and articles) you are spraying. Typically, you want about a 2" to 3" wide fan as a spray pattern, perhaps, widening to 4" for tops and backs. You should be able to adjust the gun to easily obtain that. Practice by spraying water on scraps of wood or paper to get the gun's spray pattern adjusted close to what you want, tweaking it, if necessary, for the actual finish material to be sprayed.

There is nothing easy about achieving a top-quality sprayed finish.
Old 07-18-2015, 07:36 AM

I'm interested in this too. I have heard of a lot of guys using touch-up guns but wonder if they are all-purpose enough to be the only gun I use. I finish guitars and small pieces of furniture. I only spray nitro.
Old 07-18-2015, 07:36 AM