The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 05-28-2020, 05:51 PM

Default Mic Suggestions

So I’m looking at possibly picking up a pair of Soyuz 013 fet, or Beyerdynamic MC930 mics to record fingerstyle acoustic guitar. The Beyers have a great reputation as a great mic for this but I have no first hand experience with them. I am intrigued with the Soyuz but there really isn’t much out there in the way of audio samples on acoustic guitar. My interface is an Audient iD14. If you’ve had experience with either and feel like sharing That would be great.
Old 05-28-2020, 06:34 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jgavin View Post
So I’m looking at possibly picking up a pair of Soyuz 013 fet, or Beyerdynamic MC930 mics to record fingerstyle acoustic guitar. The Beyers have a great reputation as a great mic for this but I have no first hand experience with them. I am intrigued with the Soyuz but there really isn’t much out there in the way of audio samples on acoustic guitar. My interface is an Audient iD14. If you’ve had experience with either and feel like sharing That would be great.
A pair of Beyerdynamic MC930 works quite well with solo finger style acoustic guitar. Pleasant, predictable and quite honest. The mic has a bass rolloff starting at about 150 Hz which somewhat counteracts the proximity effect when close micing.

I have no experience with the Soyez 013 FET.

Other mics you may wish to consider in your price range (+ or -) include:

Microtech Gefell M300
3 Zigma SD-C TL (or SD-C FX) (interchangeable capsules)
Telefunken (USA) M60 (interchangeable capsules)

Each of these rival the Beyerdynamic MC930 and, IMO, are preferable to it.

Last edited by sdelsolray; 05-28-2020 at 07:00 PM.
Old 05-28-2020, 06:47 PM

Sweetwater just posted this today: Choosing the Best Microphone For Acoustic Guitar – 32 Mic Shootout