The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 03-05-2011, 08:53 AM
Charter Member

Default Classical/Nylon String bridges & neck angle

Classical/Nylon String bridges & neck angle

I'm new to playing classical and nylon stringed guitars.

On most steel string guitars I've enjoyed playing, a 24"straight edge laid on the middle of the fingerboard, resting on the frets will end up sliding right on top of the bridge and butt up against the saddle. The entire bottom edge of the straight edge lays flush against the frets all the way up the neck.
On some instruments the bottom edge of the straight edge might get hung up on the front edge of the bridge, but not by much.

Is the same thing true on a well set up nylon string or classical guitar ?

I'm looking at a guitar right now where the bottom edge of the straight edge butts up against the bridge 1/8" down from the top of the bridge.
The saddle is only 1/8" high on the bass side and tapers down to 1/16" on the treble side.

Is this guitar in need of a neck reset, or heading towards one ?
Or are classical guitars built this way in general ?
A Takamine 132 I sometimes get to play also shows this alignment when the straight edge is used, but not as severe.

The guitar is playable.
Action at the 12th fret is 4/32" on the treble E and 5/32" on the bass E.
Relief seems fine.

The bass strings sound very nice - good, clear, loud tone. The treble strings not so good.
Someone put an undersaddle pickup in this guitar, which might explain part of that problem.

Any opinions appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark
Old 03-05-2011, 10:18 AM
Musical minimalist

You'll find most classicals will come in at the middle of the bridge or even a little low with the straight edge test.