The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 04-29-2018, 12:13 PM

Default Classical with truss rod?

I'm contemplating on getting a decent classical around $1000-$1500 but spending that much on a guitar without a truss rod scares the hell out of me. Am I crazy? What should I know about this phenomenon in the classical guitar world? What models use truss rods in this range.

For full disclosure, I'm a classical noob.
Old 04-29-2018, 12:18 PM

Guitars by Cordoba and Camps usually have truss rods. Other builders usually reinforce the neck with ebony strips.

afaik, nylon-strings don't exert as much tension as steel strings, hence why most classical guitar builders haven't felt the need to incorporate this feature, I imagine..
Old 04-29-2018, 12:48 PM

Cheaper Camps have a truss rod, but that metal rod makes the neck heavy compared to a properly and lightly built flamenco or classical guitar body.

The medium to higher range Camps guitars have a carbon fibre rod, which is much much stronger than the strips of ebony, and much lighter. My guitar neck is not going to move, and I'm very happy about that.
I play: Acoustic blues & folk
Videos: https://www.youtube.com/user/sirwhale28/videos

Last edited by sirwhale; 04-29-2018 at 01:00 PM.
Old 04-29-2018, 03:35 PM

Location: We are in Tucson, Arizona. https://www.zavaletas-guitarras.com

Better classical guitars don't need trust rods. The cheap models of those that do, usually need them because of the inferior qualities of woods being used for the neck.
Old 04-29-2018, 04:22 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavaletas View Post
Better classical guitars don't need trust rods. The cheap models of those that do, usually need them because of the inferior qualities of woods being used for the neck.
What he said!

Dave
Old 04-29-2018, 05:22 PM
Charter Member