The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-28-2011, 05:59 PM

Default Breaking out of fingerstyle habits?

I have been working with Mark Hanson's book which is excellent but I am finding it much easier to get along with outside-in picking than I am with inside-out.

For some reason inside-out doesn't feel as natural and I find myself slipping into outside-in all the time. As I am new to finger picking I really don't want to pick up bad habits so any advice as to how I can keep the two seperate would be welcome.

Maybe I should stop practicing outside-in for a while but I don't want to lose any of the progress I have made so far...
Old 02-28-2011, 08:26 PM

I've been playing fingerstyle since about 1976 and have never heard these terms.
What is this fellow on about?
Old 02-28-2011, 08:40 PM

outside in - pattern is something similar to A B pinch D then G string (Dust in the Wind type of pattern)
inside out - opposite i suppose never used it
Old 03-01-2011, 02:09 AM

By way of clarification I am taking about alternating bass patterns or Travis Picking:

On a C chord for example, what Mark Hanson's "Contemporary Travis Picking" refers to as an "Outside-in" pattern is Thumb (5th string), (Middle 2nd string), Thumb (4th string), Index (3rd string).

The "Inside-out" pattern for C would be Thumb (5th), Index (3rd string), Thumb (4th string),Middle (2nd String).

My problem is that I find difficult to keep playing Thumb/Index/Thumb/Middle but relatively easy to play Thumb/Middle/Thumb/Index. As a consequence I often find myself reverting to the easier pattern unintentionally, almost subconsciously.