The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-26-2016, 01:16 PM

Default Flatpicking Essentials vs. Mel Bay Complete Flatpicking Guitar Book, or another?

Hi, I'm new to the forum, but I've lurked a bit until now. I am wondering which of these books you think would be most helpful for me, or if you would suggest another.

Flatpicking Essentials Vol. 1 and 2, by Dan Miller

or

Mel Bay Complete Flatpicking Guitar Book, by Steve Kaufman

I usually play with a pick because I love the bolder sound. I really enjoy rock, blues, and folk music, and I recently discovered a very friendly local bluegrass jam, which I've attended once and I want to get into. I've been playing on and off for several years, but I know shamefully little theory, and my repertoire is lacking, too.

I realize that these books both focus around bluegrass and country, which I am very interested in, but I'm hoping that I'll also pick up a lot of skills and understanding that will transfer to other genres. I'd like to be able to improvise in any of these styles while playing solo and singing, and be able to embellish my rhythm playing with cool licks and bass runs, etc. My plain old hum and strum just may not be that interesting to listen to! I also want to be able to play decently in a jam. Which of these books will help me become a more skilled and versatile player? Do you have other suggestions?

Thank you!

PS- I'm currently working through the Guitar Fretboard Workbook, by Barrett Tagliarino, which is helping me understand the fretboard. I like learning from books! However, there isn't really any music in there, so I'm hoping to apply some of what I'm learning there as I learn flatpicking skills, too.