The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 09-04-2020, 08:43 AM

Default New Venture in luthiery. Churchland Guitars/Chapter 1

I've been a member on this forum for a long time. From my infancy as a guitar player at the ripe old age of 16 this forum helped expose me to alot of fantastic builders and it's really nice to see alot of them still building after over a decade of reading on here.

For the past 5 years I had not really been happy with where I was as a person or as a musician, I had become a rather snarky angry individual and I really needed to change something. I have been practicing the repair trade for a while now, it pays the bills but still I wasn't quite where I wanted to be. I figured that rather than simply continue doing the same thing and spinning my tires that I should try something new and take a risk. And so building has become a new thing for me. When trying to come up with a name to build under my wife suggested that I use a variation on my last name of Kirkland. So Churchland (like Churchill but just with "land" instead of "hill") became the name and it stuck.

Since we like to talk about these things my building method is below basic. I have no power tools save for a fleishman binding machine. Everything else is completely (and I absolutely mean *completely*) done by hand, thicknessing, bending, carving etc... My apartment is so small with myself the wife and our little 1 year old that I have no choice but to do it this way. I don't do it out of any romance because trust me, it is ALOT of work compared to using a machine. Thicknessing especially takes a while with a little no. 3 plane but it does allow some control over the final product in a way you can't get with a machine. Bending is challenging because I simply don't have room for a mold. And so I've learned to build completely without a mold.