The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 05-24-2013, 02:10 AM

Default Rainsong Shorty/ Martin 000-28ec + a dozen of guitars

Hi all! I've been playing the guitar for 15 years now..
Last weekend, my buddy and I spent the whole Saturday at testing out a dozen of fine guitars in a dedicated acoustic showroom. My buddy was looking for a GA/mini jumbo to complement his Gibby Hummingbird and I had high hopes trading-in one of my Martins to a Rainsong OM guitar after reading a few Rainsong Shorty reviews.
To cut the long story short, my buddy went home with a Furch G22SR but I was surprisingly disappointed with the Rainsong H-OM1000n2. It sounded thin and overly bright, the stereotypical negatives of a CF guitar(Short summary of all guitars we've played below).

On the other hand, I tried the other Rainsong available which is the latest parlor, wow! remarkable, great example of a bluesbox!
My question is:
a: Just how much better can I expect of the Rainsong Shorty compared to the H-OM1000n2?
b: if blindfolded, how does it compare to a Martin 000-28ec in terms of feel and sound? I mean specs wise are similar, 000 body, 1-3/4" short scale, except for the 12 vs 14 fret body.

Please don't get me wrong, not trying to start a troll/comparison thread here. I just trying to gather general opinions because I'm really curious and never gotten to A-B or try both the Rainsong Shorty and 000-28ec before(both I've heard great reviews)

Now, for the short one liner summaries.. I won't be describing the Gibsons and Taylors too much as there are more accurate reviews in this forums
1. Furch G22SR: responsive,balanced and rounded.
2. Taylor 814ce : quite similar to the Furch but brighter and slightly lighter built.
3. Taylor 514ce: very rounded and full sounding, the difference of the cedar top is very audible.