The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 09-21-2019, 04:27 AM

Default setup

Quick question: Are there any "tricks" effects-wise that I can use to make my sound full, playing acoustic shows? I'm a closet musician about to do my first real gig. (Me and acoustic, maybe throw in my Gretsch or Tele for a few). Tap tempo delay seems popular....I'm a little embarrassed to say I don't really know what that is. I have a boss digital delay, compressor, stupid box (brent mason style tube distortion), chorus, eq, phaser and tuner all on a ridiculously huge pedalboard.

Thanks for any tips. I want to sound as good as I possibly can, but also be as SIMPLE as I possibly can!
Old 09-21-2019, 07:04 AM

Focus on getting a good eq when you first setup. Everything else is flavoring, so you want to add that like you add salt to a soup. The main thing is to play well. I would put more thought into how your hands are affecting your tone than anything else. If you can play well, you’ll sound good on just about any setup.
Old 09-21-2019, 07:23 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneThing View Post
Focus on getting a good eq when you first setup. Everything else is flavoring, so you want to add that like you add salt to a soup. The main thing is to play well. I would put more thought into how your hands are affecting your tone than anything else. If you can play well, you’ll sound good on just about any setup.
This is excellent advice. More info from OP might also be helpful. Do you know what type of pickup you're using and what PA or sound system?

I would ignore almost everything on your board. Maybe reverb, maybe compressor, but as already mentioned, EQ and good technique are the most essential, as is a natural sounding pickup. Some people use tap tempo delay well - your boss surely has a tap temp function, but less is best, IMO
50th Anniversary Fender Am Std Strat.