The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-15-2021, 10:17 PM
Charter Member

Default Presonus Audiobox USB 96 vs Scarlett 2i2 ???

Abject digital beginner here. I had some experience with an old (Tascam or Fostex) 4-channel cassette tape deck last century, but I lost interest in that when my bass line invaded all the other tracks, even direct line-in (without the usual suspect, mic bleed over). And I couldn't erase it or record over it no matter what I tried. The ghost of bass was simply permanent on those skinny little tapes.

Anyhow, I'm itching to record again, wanting to do something really simple and digital (no tape ever again). Total tracks added one at a time will probably consist of a metronome (to be silenced later) and 1-2 guitars. More ambitious projects down the road might include, bass, a shaker and a voice or two. Compressors, filters and effects won't be needed. Just super simple.

I already have the following, all decent quality:
- Instruments and cables
- Mics, stands and cables
- Headphones (to isolate playback when adding new tracks)
- Speakers

Standing in the store today, I found myself waffling between the $99 Audiobox and the $169 Scarlett 2i2. Seems the Audiobox has software included and is more or less ready to plug and play when I take it home and open the box.

I've heard of Presonus before. Given the simplicity of what I intend to do, will the cheaper, one-box Audiobox be a relatively uncomplicated way to start out without too much confusion?

Thanks for opinions and advice.

Last edited by tinnitus; 03-15-2021 at 10:22 PM.
Old 03-15-2021, 10:52 PM

The Presonus should work for you.

You're also going to need a computer, a DAW (digital audio workstation)
and other assorted things such as monitors, headphones, etc.