The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-22-2022, 12:33 PM

Default Which open A fingering do you prefer?

I started learning with online resources including JustinGuitar. Justin recommends the "new" A fingering:

Lately I have started taking lessons and my instructor has very diplomatically tried to tell me she thinks the new fingering sucks and I should try to switch to traditional 1-2-3.

In playing it both ways and trying to be objective, it seems to be about even -- there is something to like and dislike about each. The new way is a little harder to get to quickly but I find my fingers fit better and I am less likely to have a string that won't ring clearly. The new way also has the advantage of giving you a consistent anchor finger to E and D.

If I can't switch or don't wanna, my instructor will roll with it, but I do want to give it real consideration.

What do y'all think? Any strong opinions?
Old 07-22-2022, 12:54 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
I don't have a strong opinion on that particular fingering. It does work.
But what I think is a better approach, is not to "standardize" on any one way to play a chord, for the simple reason that proper fingering on any given song is often dependent on what came before, and what comes next.
So, best to learn and get comfortable with all A forms, also the ones with just one or two fingers, but if you prefer a "go to" shape, then by all means do so. I guess mine would be the way your teacher does it, but that's because I learned it so many moons ago.

Golf is pretty simple. It's just not that easy.
- Paul Azinger

"It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble. It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so."
– Mark Twain

http://www.youtube.com/user/Gitfiddlemann
Old 07-22-2022, 01:04 PM