The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-21-2021, 06:06 PM

Default Capo or No Capo?

I am a beginning guitar player. I started playing a little after the start of the COVID 19 pandemic as something to occupy my time and it has really taken hold of me. My question is should I use a capo or not? I learned a simple lead for “Red Haired Boy” in the keys of A Maj. and again in G Maj. To me one isn’t any more difficult to play than the other. I have noticed, however that most tutorial/instructional videos about this tune teach you to play it in G Maj. and capo up to frets to sound it in A Maj. I see similar situations in other tunes, so what is the advantage of playing everything in G? Are they all banjo players or something? I can understand changing the voicing, but is that the only reason?
Old 02-21-2021, 06:16 PM
Charter Member

There are a couple of reasons.

One is to be able to play open chord shapes, which can be easier for a lot of folks. The sound of those open chord shapes/voicings is also preferred in bluegrass. And it can be helpful to keep the song in your vocal range.

But there's certainly no reason that you can't play it in whichever key that you'd like, other than tradition.

Bourgeois DR-A / Bowerman "Working Man's" OM / Martin Custom D-18 (adi & flame) / Martin OM-21 / Northwood M70 MJ / 1970s Sigma DR-7 / Eastman E6D / Flatiron Signature A5 / Silverangel Econo A
(Call me Dan)
Old 02-21-2021, 06:21 PM
Get off my lawn kid

I play instrumental finger style only and many of the tunes I cover and write use a capo. Its use in this regard is only for the different "colors" you can bring to the tone of the guitar.

My SoundCloud page

Avalon L-320C, Guild D-120, Martin D-16GT, McIlroy A20, Pellerin SJ CW

Cordobas - C5, Fusion 12 Orchestra, C12, Stage Traditional

Alvarez AP66SB, Seagull Folk

Aria {Johann Logy}:
Old 02-21-2021, 06:26 PM