The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 09-02-2018, 02:04 PM

Default Found Guitar on Garbage, I want to repair it

Hello!

So I always wanted to play guitar and I never had the chance until Infound a guitar thrown away.

I have zero knowledge on guitars but I want to learn to play it. I hope you guys can help me in the restauration process!

This is the guitar and is missing a string, which brand should I get? and should I change all strings? What else should I check in order to be functioning?

Last edited by Chevi; 09-03-2018 at 10:03 AM.
Old 09-02-2018, 03:21 PM

Your pic is just huge. Could you post pics (smaller please) so we could see how far the strings are above the fret board?

Old 09-02-2018, 03:37 PM

I’d suggest elixir extra lights. Give it a go then adjust as you get to know ur guitar better
Oh and congrats on the save
Old 09-02-2018, 05:34 PM

That pinless bridge form suggests that bridge is on a tied-off nylon string guitar. The neck's too narrow for a classical, though. If it is a nylon string guitar, it likely will suffer with steel string tension.
Old 09-03-2018, 06:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisN View Post
That pinless bridge form suggests that bridge is on a tied-off nylon string guitar. The neck's too narrow for a classical, though. If it is a nylon string guitar, it likely will suffer with steel string tension.
It's not a nylon strung guitar ... that pinless bridge design is used by several makers of steel strung guitars, notably Ovation and Takamine, to name but two.
Old 09-03-2018, 07:48 AM

Put it back in the garbage

But seriously a bad guitar is hard to learn on. You don't need a $5k Martin to learn on but something like that could be painful.