The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-21-2023, 06:55 AM

Default Beatles key change

On "you're gonna lose that girl" the middle part changes from E to G I think? progression goes f# to D which still is key of E but then goes G-C-G-C-F back to E So where does F come from? anyone explain this in simple ish terms for a theory illiterate like me?
Old 03-21-2023, 07:14 AM

John Lennon was a theory illiterate too.
Gibson J200
Furch MC Yellow Gc-CR SPA
Guild G212
Eastman E2OM-CD
Old 03-21-2023, 07:34 AM
Charter Member

I'm no expert, but I think the F is a transition chord, from the key of G back to E, in the same way that the D is a transition chord from the key of E to G.

D (maj) is not in the key of E; I think it would have been D dim (or Dm7b5?) to be in the key of E. But it is D because it helps the transition of the key change, as does the F (not F dim) to go back to key of E.

Of course, theory is only an observation of music, not a rule.
Old 03-21-2023, 08:12 AM

We like to say John Lennon was musically illiterate, but dude knew what he was doing-- and since the Beatles played tons of music from and inspired by tin pan alley stuff, they were masters at setting up a key change.

So the D is the V of G, the key for the bridge. It's also the bVII in E, kind of a blues sound, so it still fits in E and sets up G perfectly.

The F acts as a transition back to E...tritone sub for the B7, the V of E.

Did Lennon think that? Maybe, maybe not. But he definitely played songs hundreds if not thousands of times that did stuff like this and he internalized it for sure...

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 03-21-2023, 08:45 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by agfsteve View Post
I'm no expert, but I think the F is a transition chord, from the key of G back to E, in the same way that the D is a transition chord from the key of E to G.