The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-21-2022, 05:53 PM

Default Fingerpicking, Alternating Bass and Bad Habits

I do a lot of fingerpicking and have for over 50 years. Being self-taught you can pick up some bad habits. Some time back I had the great good fortune to open for Chris Smithers in a small local club (I think I was the only guy they could find who was about the same age) and got to talk to him about this some, specifically on alternating bass. On most acoustic blues tunes I stick pretty close to using a strict alternating bass but will sometimes skip a note if something else fills in the empty space. Always bothers me. Smithers said he misses a bass note pretty often but his foot tapping fills it in pretty well. More importantly he said you can become kind of obsessive about this stuff, especially on country based acoustic blues with the alternating bass rule kind of carved in stone. Ironic because the guys who invented this style of playing pretty much threw the rulebook out the window. I suspect they were too busy playing to spend much time agonizing over missed notes. Still, it's kind of jarring to suddenly realize you've been doing something "wrong" for most of your life.

Any thoughts on this?

Last edited by srick; 06-21-2022 at 06:42 PM. Reason: Removed implied profanity
Old 06-22-2022, 04:39 AM

What would be "jarring" to me would be to realise that what I'd been doing all this time actually sounded wrong. I.e., to realise I'd not been listening properly all those years!

Technically - like you - I developed a few (what might be called) "bad habits", being self-taught.
Really, they are nothing but "unorthodox" technques - which, as you say, all the old guys had anyway, in that they all had their own idiosyncrasies. They had a lot of things in common technically, but each had their own take on it, their own style.