The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-14-2020, 10:40 AM
Charter Member

Default And yet another monel strings thread

I’ve been using monel strings on my little cheap 00 all hog guitar that I’ve been playing exclusively for the past two months or so. A couple of days ago I thought I’d get out my Seagull S6 Spruce (cherry plywood back and sides with solid spruce top and maple neck) and give that a spin in the back garden. The 80/20s were pretty dead on it so I grabbed the spare set of Martin MM12 strings I had for the 00 and fitted those.

Just as expected, after 10 minutes or so the strings started to settle, and then they sounded crap. By crap, I mean the overtones disappeared from my guitar, it sounded more woody and more ‘thuddy’, and I was having to put a lot more of ‘me’ into my playing and be a bit more physical with the beast. My guitar’s tone had moved from ‘modern’ to something like a dry and aged old Martin D-18 you’ve just rescued from a dumpster. And what’s more I was having to actually play the guitar.

Oh well, I know from past experience that monel strings only last a year or so; therefore, I’ll only have to wait 12 months before I can justify swapping them out for something better. While I’m waiting for those monel strings to wear out, I’ll just have to get used to playing a dread that now sounds like one of those rubbish old vintage ones that folks pay a fortune for.

I've played and studied traditional noter/drone mountain dulcimer for many years. And I used to play dobro in a bluegrass band.

Old 09-14-2020, 11:52 AM
Charter Member

Bummer for you Robin. I wonder how a "rubbish old Vintage" D-18 would sound with 80-20's on it.

If I ever get one, I'll let you know. In the meantime, I guess you'll just have to suffer through with the Monels...

-Ray
Old 09-14-2020, 12:59 PM