The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-02-2021, 02:29 PM

Default 12 fretters have been on my mind as of late...

Hi all, first post here! I've been playing for about 2 years now, and reading this forum has significantly impacted me with the knowledge on here. So thanks for that!

A bit of context on what I primarily play: I stick with picking like John Hurt and John Fahey. Other plyers along the lines of them too. I suppose I should call it Travis picking...but slightly different? I don't know. I'm also a guy who likes bigger guitars mostly a la jumbos and dreadnoughts, but I also don't mind smaller bodies like 000 sizes. The majority of the time though my playing has been done on my main axe, a Masterbilt AJ-45 (absolutely love that thing, can't recommend one enough!). It's served me well with fingerstyle and strumming I guess it's like a leatherman.

Lately I've been considering investing in a "premium" guitar (something that isn't sub $1000) since I can confidently say I'll stick with guitar for a long time. I've played on several high dollar Gibsons, Martins, Taylors, and I think I'm leaning more towards the all mahogany sound as opposed to spruce. It's definitely not something I have in my arsenal. I'm imagining a bigger body if available, and saw that LA Guitar Sales has some custom D15-SMs listed. While I was gearing more towards that, I came across an Epiphone 12 fret masterbilt (cedar top, slotted headstock) too.