The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 12-30-2023, 12:34 PM
Charter Member

Default Melodybe for intonation issues?

I recently recorded a solo fingerstyle song in which the 6th string is tuned down to B, but with the guitar not set up for that tuning, notes up the neck (7,8,10) are poorly intonated. Is it feasible to use Melodyne Essentials (I got a copy with Pro Tools) to fix this? I’m not strumming chords, but there may be some overlap from other notes ringing out. I’ve never used any auto tune software before.
Old 12-30-2023, 12:41 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimi2 View Post
I recently recorded a solo fingerstyle song in which the 6th string is tuned down to B, but with the guitar not set up for that tuning, notes up the neck (7,8,10) are poorly intonated. Is it feasible to use Melodyne Essentials (I got a copy with Pro Tools) to fix this? I’m not strumming chords, but there may be some overlap from other notes ringing out. I’ve never used any auto tune software before.
Melodyne's pretty amazing, and can indeed do what you are suggesting (you can even use it to correct wrong notes), BUT, you will likely hear some phasing sound that you may not like. I have used Melodyne a few times on solo guitar, but usually in a very targeted way, like selecting and correcting a single note that was off. If it goes by quickly, the phasing sound may not be noticeable, but applying it to an entire track, you probably won't like (but you can always give it a try and see if it works in your specific case). I've had the best luck using it when I had other instruments as well, which also tends to mask any artifacts.
Old 12-30-2023, 02:30 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Young View Post