The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 05-27-2015, 08:29 PM

Smile Starting to Play Live Gigs

Hey guys, I am relatively new to the acoustic/electric world and am wanting to get serious and start playing live gigs. I have played a couple with just my old acoustic, but I have had a Taylor 314 now for a year and am looking to buy amps and such. I have looked into the Fishman Loudbox Artist, but found the bose compact L1 appealing. I play a lot of country/dmb/dispatch/ a lot of other stuff along those lines (no hard rock or so) and am just planning on solo gigs but might have an accompanying lead electric with me as well as a cajon or so. I like quality equipment for the money so any help on what I should buy to get great sound would be awesome! like amp wise, microphone wise, should i get a mixer, etc...
Old 05-27-2015, 08:50 PM
Charter Member

I play country, folk and old rock solo and prefer to to go through my BOSE L1 Compact. That thing is so clear and just does an amazing job of filling the entire room with sound. I've got a buddy that uses a Fishman Loudbox for similar sized gigs and it sounds great, but I still prefer my BOSE because the sound isn't directional and it just fills the room. I'm purely solo so I don't use a mixer, I just run the guitar and vocals through a Digitec Vocalist Live 3 and it handles all the mixing and effects. Good luck...playing solo is an amazing ride!
'18 Martin 000-17E "Willie"
‘23 Taylor AD12e-SB
'22 Taylor GTe Blacktop
'15 Martin 000X1AE

https://pandora.app.link/ysqc6ey22hb

Old 05-27-2015, 08:50 PM

I'm fond of a PA rather than running voice and guitar through guitar amps.