The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-23-2020, 02:48 PM

Default beginner needs help - guitar size/nut and scale

Hi,
I am a 51yr old beginner. I have an old Lado Hawk 415 (lefty). I am doing some lessons on line and noticed my chord transition is tough and I mute strings a lot. I have had an electric guitar on my last attempt to learn and didn't find it this tough. I have done some quick measurements on my Lado; Nut is 41.5mm, Scale 25", String from E to E is 34.9mm. my string action seems to be between 2-3mm; I am waiting on a gauge to accurately measure this. My question is; is this a tough setup for learning. I am 5'8" and hands are med-large. I went into the local shop and tried a Taylor Academy 12, GS Mini and a seagull S6 Original Lefty; all of which felt a ton easier especially the taylors. I am currently waiting on an Art and Lutherie Legacy CW left to arrive to try it.
There is a ton of advice online which varying opions. I am wondering if anyone can offer me some sound advice on what my best sizing is for a beginner. The chord I struggle with most (as most people do from what I read is the C).. I don't know anything about the Lado Hawk I am using but have the feeling it is a very low end guitar.
Old 02-23-2020, 02:59 PM

There is no one size for a beginner. It's more about your hand and finger size/length and personal preference. If you are having trouble reaching your chords you could go to a shorter 24.75 scale. If your fingers are cramped, look for a nut width of at least 1.75 and string spacing at the saddle of at least 2 1/4. If you are having trouble with barre chords take it in for a set up and have them lower the action.
Old 02-23-2020, 03:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcarter68 View Post
Hi,