The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-23-2020, 08:50 AM
Charter Member

Default An appreciation for those that own, play, keep one and only one guitar

So I recently stumbled upon the answer of a great mystery from my youth that led me to another thought and appreciation. Bear with me as the story is a little convoluted. Back in my late teens a I saw a movie that had a very brief scene that featured a young man playing an acoustic guitar in his bedroom and singing a beautiful song. I unfortunately quickly forgot the movie but I never forgot the song! Then when I started playing acoustic guitar I always wanted to find that song again to play it but couldn't.

Recently I was listening to a podcast about my favorite TV show, The West Wing, when they talked about the director of a particular episode named Paul McCrane and how he was in the movie Fame and a lightbulb went off. Now Paul McCrane has had a very successful career as an actor and director in TV and movies. So I went to YouTube and searched for Paul McCrane and instantly found the clip from the movie fame of him playing and singing the song, 'Is It Okay If I Call You Mine'.

What was really cool though was that in addition to the clip of that song from Fame (which he actually wrote himself along with two other songs from that movie) was that he redid the song in a brief series he starred in some 31 years later called 'Harry's Law'. It was really cool to see how the way he played the song changed over the years from strumming all bar chords to delicate fingerstyle playing. But the REALLY cool thing is that it looks like he's playing the EXACT same guitar in both clips, a Guild dread.