The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-28-2020, 02:40 PM

Default B minor chord

I’m slightly beyond a novice guitar player. I’m struggling a bit with a B minor chord using the root on the 5th string. Any suggestions or is it simply a matter of continual repetition?

Thanks, all.
Old 06-28-2020, 02:47 PM

I should probably wait until more experienced players respond, but I'm also a beginner player, maybe beyond novice (or at least should be). A partial Bm chord used especially in trad Irish is to play the notes of the Bm on the middle 4 strings. So no bar, but you are using all four fingers: index on 5th str, 2nd fret; middle on 2nd str, 3rd fret, and other fingers getting the 4th fret on the other middle strings.

The above works, but I'm also practising barre chords, including the full Bm. I had despaired of ever getting them, but persistence is paying off; I'm at least in the 80% club now for barre chords. So yes, also continual repetition.
Old 06-28-2020, 03:01 PM

Another workaround is a poor man’s Bm7:

x2020x
Old 06-28-2020, 03:16 PM
Charter Member

I think you’ll get it with plenty of reps. However, B and B Flat were my most difficult to get down so I could play them clean and quick. Good luck.
Old 06-28-2020, 03:27 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by terryd913 View Post
I’m slightly beyond a novice guitar player. I’m struggling a bit with a B minor chord using the root on the 5th string. Any suggestions or is it simply a matter of continual repetition?

Thanks, all.

I believe you're looking for tips on technique not work around? Which is great because this is a very important shape for you to nail. Once you can take that full barre you can move it up and down the fretboard with this and many other shapes. It's a real sign of progress in your development as a guitarist.