The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 05-24-2021, 09:52 AM

Default What should I expect to spend on an intermediate electric rig

I've been toying with getting an electric rig. I've put in a few years on acoustic, and thought it might be fun to have a different "sound."

The standard online advice centers on beginners--get a Squire and a little amp, and upgrade in a year or two. But I'm not really a beginner, I know I won't quit, and I don't want the hassle (and cash loss) of upgrading, if I can avoid it.

I was thinking something like a MIM Strat or maybe a PRS SE 24, for the guitar. Amps, I know nothing about. How much will an amp good enough to justify such a guitar run me? Used is fine. I know an expensive guitar run through a cheap amp sounds like . . . a cheap amp. So I'd rather avoid that, and the upgrade cycle.

Just trying to get a sense of what this project would likely cost, so I can assess how badly I'd really like to try this.
Old 05-24-2021, 09:53 AM

Default What should I expect to spend on an intermediate electric rig

MIM Strat or Tele and Fender Mustang amp. $800 or so.
2004 Fender Telecaster MIM
2010 Martin DCX1RE
1984 Sigma DM3
Fender Mustang III v2
Old 05-24-2021, 10:05 AM
Charter Member

You didn't mention tubes or SS for your amp preference.

Want a gig-able amp? Look for a used Fender Deluxe Reverb. ($800ish)

Want a bedroom amp to crank, look at a Vox AC4 1x12 or the hardwired version at twice the cost. $400-$800.

Last edited by stephenT; 05-24-2021 at 10:34 AM.
Old 05-24-2021, 10:49 AM