The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-02-2019, 05:04 PM

Default beginner moving on to nicer/bigger guitar (Larrivee?)--help

Hello: i have been playing for a few months now, learning on a Baby Taylor. It's sweet, but I have been itching for something bigger.

I have a strong attraction to the Larrivee OM-03, though I've never actually played it. I noodled around today at my local Guitar Center, to get an idea of what the different sizes felt like (Seagull, Martin, Yamaha).

A dread is likely too big -- I am an older beginner, and have a shoulder issue. I played a Taylor 214 (orchestra?) and it felt pretty good size-wise. I want something that is balanced (fingerpicking/strumming) and will carry me through the next few years. My budget is about $1200, and used is fine (though I'm a little wary as a newbie, not knowing exactly what to watch out for).

My question: how does the Larrivee OM compare, size and neck feel wise, to the Taylor? I'm trying to get more info before I take a drive to the nearest dealer.

Thanks! I have been lurking for a while now; this is a fun forum.

LS
Old 08-02-2019, 05:12 PM
Charter Member

HUGE, huge Larrivee fan here.
I would suggest that you try an Om-40 or Om40r. They have a different bracing and give more bottom than the standard series. Both are great...but I am partial to 40 series. 40 series is usually a few hundred dollars more.
Larrivee and Taylor do have very different necks. So it would be hard to say if it will fit you the same as the Taylor. For myself, I have no problems adjusting to different neck styles. However...for many on the AGF...the neck shape can be a make or break deal. So you will have to play a Larrivee and decide for yourself.
Old 08-02-2019, 05:15 PM