The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 10-04-2018, 01:37 PM

Default P90s v HBs

Am I just a P90/single coil guy? Or is it that I haven't tried a quality humbucker?

I'm in my experimental phase - buying different cheap guitars with varying pickups/configurations (eg full/reduced scale lengths, solid/semi/hollow bodies, single coils, P90s, and humbuckers) to get a feel for what I do and don't like, so that I can focus my efforts for greatest aural reward. Experience-wise, I'm a newbie player working through the basics.

I have 2 Epi 339s (semihollow) - 1 w/alnico V HBs (alnico classic pro) and one with Epi's "vintage P90s". I have an Agile LP copy (Korean) w/cheap no name alnico V HBs. I have a G&L Asat Special (solid body) w/large (Magnetic Field Design) single coil pickups. I have a G&L Ascari GT90 (solid body) with P90s neck/bridge. I have a '93 Gibson LP w/the 490/498 HB combo (I replaced the alnico V magnet in the bridge pickup with an alnico II magnet (as in the neck) to calm the bridge a bit - they didn't seem well matched). I have a Gibson 390 (hollow) w/Gibson alnico II minihumbuckers. I have a Korean single coil strat copy. This is my limited universe of available sounds, and experience.

Re: Preferred music/sound -- I, thus far as a relative newb, like defined articulate sound that is clear, but which can also sound good (strong/rocky) with added gain and effects. I prefer to play a pop or classical song clean, or with minor effects (eg some reverb) to playing loud, lots of distortion/effects - I don't like muddy metal-type sounds. But, I also like playing blues/rock rhythm riffs via power chords with added gain (eg some classic rock). Quiet homebody bedroom playing, only, so low volume or headphones.