The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-19-2018, 07:49 PM

Default Do you memorize songs or rely on digital/paper?

Obviously I'm new to playing, but I have a question to this well experienced, sage group:

Do you read what you play off of tabs/notation when playing/practicing or do you memorize the songs you play. I want to do things right and efficient as I progress and I'm finding myself expending much energy to memorize AND learn how to play.

I apologize up front for such an elementary question, but I am extremely motivated and I am excited to have this new found addition to my life called playing music.
Old 04-19-2018, 08:14 PM
Charter Member

I was blessed with a singing voice, but I was cursed with a bad memory. I have the worst time memorizing songs. Therefore, I have a lengthy digital songbook on my iPad! It also allows me the flexibility to play requests that folks may have; I can carry as many songs as I want, even if they’re not in regular rotation. There are certain songs that are hammered into my head right now, but I’m constantly trying to learn new ones so the iPad is a HUGE help.

'22 Taylor GTe
'17 Taylor GS Mini E Koa
'09 Craig Anderson/Burlington Guitars B-2 Custom
'01 Martin DX-1
'00 Fender Stratocaster (Midnight Blue)

facebook.com/whitneyborisenok
Old 04-19-2018, 08:25 PM

I try to commit song forms to memory.

I play very little "note for note." I prefer to have room to improvise. But that's probably just my inability to concentrate on something long enough to learn it note for note.

I'll occasionally use a lead sheet or chord chart to refresh my memory, but generally, on a gig, my goal is no paper.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 04-19-2018, 08:37 PM

I have probably about 1-200 songs in my memory banks. The rest I need to consult on the ipad or phone.
Old 04-19-2018, 08:38 PM

Default memory or written