The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-08-2019, 01:05 PM

Default Adjusting to a Dreadnought

I've been playing a Martin 000 for several years, and just bought a Guild D20, which is a relatively large dreadnought (see measurements below). It sounds great, and the neck is comfortable, but I'm having issues with the body size. I'm not small (5'10"), but my right (strumming) arm gets tired quickly, and my right pinkie and ring finger start to tingle after I've been playing for 20-30 minutes. It feels like my right elbow is very far from my torso and the soundhole. I've mostly been playing seated, and have tried a number of different positions to get comfortable (including classical), but nothing has fixed the problem yet.

When I tried the D20 before buying it, I could feel a slight strain getting my right arm around the lower bout, but I assumed I'd quickly adjust. Now, after playing it regularly for a week, I'm concerned that a dreadnought body may not work for me. My right arm is sore, which could just mean that I'm building muscle, but the tingling in my strumming hand doesn't seem normal or healthy, and I'm worried about developing shoulder pain in the future.

Has anyone else had a similar experience switching to a dreadnought from a smaller guitar? If so, were you able to adjust after a few weeks or months, or did you give up and switch back?

Note: For reference, the Guild D20 has a depth of 5" and width of 16" at the lower bout (making it slightly bigger than Martin dreadnoughts). My Martin 000, by contrast, is 4 1/8" x 15".
Old 02-08-2019, 01:28 PM
Charter Member

Sorry to hear that your having trouble with the Guild. Without seeing a video of your ergonomics with the guitar it will be hard to give you any suggestions besides getting a smaller dread. We are the same height and dreads are my fav.