The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-17-2013, 03:12 PM

Default Larrivee OM crack repair.. and more

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting in this section, and I'm actually very excited to do so. I'm eager to hear back from all the experts on my situation here.

I've got an old "player's" guitar that needs some repairs. Actually, a little background of this guitar.. I bought it used from Jim @ trinityguitars.com for a steal! and it came to me virtually untouched. Here's how she looked when I first got her..

This was back in February of 2006. Since then, this guitar served faithfully as a true workhorse. I used this guitar every friday and sunday, serving as a praise leader at my church for 7 years, and she's definitely got the battle wounds to show for it.

Here's how she looks today..

Well, a few years ago, a few students at my church were playing around with my guitar (I let them), and they accidentally dropped it onto a hard table top. The drop was approximately 3 feet, and it left a nasty foot and a half long crack along the treble side of the guitar. I was shocked.. but I really couldn't say anything to them. Well, since then, I just put some duct tape on the wound and she just kept on trucking along.

The wound..

So today, this guitar has been more or less retired, and I'd love to fix her up a bit. I have to admit that I'm no guitar tech or luthier, but I do like doing hands on type of things.. and I'm really not too afraid to "screw up" this guitar, as it really is a player's guitar.

Now, on to the repair.. I've been doing some research, and I have a general idea of what it may take. I've got some home made spool clamps, and spare guitar tuners to make those really cool tuner clamps. I've also got some pieces of east indian rosewood that I got during a visit to the Martin guitar factory that I'm thinking of using as cleats.