The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 10-05-2010, 08:50 AM

Default Builder question: Filling in holes

I'm new to the world of hand built guitars, and curious how you builders feel about back/side sets that have imperfections in them. Perhaps there is a small hole in the back or side when you order the wood and you know it's there. How often do you use sets like this? How do you feel about filling the hole and using the set - is it less stable or resonant in any way? If you do use wood like this, how do you make the repair less noticeable on the finished guitar?

Thanks for your thoughts.
Taylor GA8 Sitka/EIR
Reverend '21 Charger 290
Gibson '03 Les Paul Studio Swamp Ash
Fender '94 American Std Strat
Squier Classic Vibe Baritone Telecaster

Many are gone but not forgotten...some are just forgotten
Old 10-05-2010, 09:11 AM
Me

If we only used perfect wood, we'd never complete a guitar. If natural, holes are part of the character and beauty of the wood. If man made, that's a different story.
Old 10-05-2010, 10:39 AM
AGF Sponsor

You can either hide them, or capitalize on them.
If they are quite small, a simple fill is nearly invisible, and I can't see it having any effect on sound.
Or if they are large, like the picture gleaned from Jarvis' post, then they can become part of the composition. These holes were made by the Ambrosia beetle, and I felt were part of the story. I filled them with a black matrix, which advertised them pointedly. On the back side (inside guitar) there are tiny cleats made from matching wood covering each hole as reinforcement.

Steve

Crafted in the Piney Woods
Old 10-05-2010, 10:41 AM
AGF Sponsor

Quote:
Originally Posted by lossforgain View Post