The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 01-11-2019, 02:11 PM

Default TH Helicon Play Acoustic - Adding pedals

Hello...

I have a TH Helicon Play Acoustic and just purchased a GFI Specular Reverb v3, a Neunaber Seraphim Stereo Shimmer and a passive volume pedal. I have the TC pedal configured the way I want it for my acoustic and vocal mix but I'm a newbie to pedals and wondered if someone could give me some direction on the best way to link the new gear to it?

Thanks, in advance, for the direction!!

Best!
Old 01-11-2019, 02:42 PM

Hey PstrGolf, welcome to the forum!

You will have to run your pedals after the Play Acoustic, or run an A/B splitter box from your guitar and send one line to the Play Acoustic and the other line to another amp with the effects pedals. If you want to connect the pedals after the P/A you need a line transformer to attach to the end of the XLR cable giving you a 1/4"jack to plug into the pedals. Shure makes them, look on ebay.
Tell us how it works out for you. Good luck,
frankie
Old 01-11-2019, 02:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chickee View Post

You will have to run your pedals after the Play Acoustic, or run an A/B splitter box from your guitar and send one line to the Play Acoustic and the other line to another amp with the effects pedals. If you want to connect the pedals after the P/A you need a line transformer to attach to the end of the XLR cable giving you a 1/4"jack to plug into the pedals. Shure makes them, look on ebay.
frankie
Thanks frankie! I believe I have an old line transformer. Would a DI box work? Thanks, again!
Old 01-11-2019, 03:02 PM

The line adapter is a SHURE A85F transformer lowZ xlr to highZ 1/4" plug.
You will still be using a xlr with the DI box, no? Unless you D/I box has a thru output?

Last edited by Chickee; 01-11-2019 at 03:09 PM.
Old 01-11-2019, 03:14 PM