The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 10-11-2020, 01:42 PM
Charter Member

Default Focal Clear Professional headphones review

The Focal Clear Professional headphones arrived a few hours ago and I've been A/Bing them against my MassDrop HD 6xx headphones (which are essentially Sennheiser HD 650 cans). The MassDrop is a really good set of headphones. I've been using them for a few years and they've really served me well.

The Focal Clear Pros first showed up on my radar when I saw this review by Warren Huart in which he says at one point the headphones brought tears to his eyes.

It took me many months to pull the trigger on these. There's so much hype in audio gear and $1500 is a lot of coin to drop on a pair of headphones. I was prepared to be somewhat disappointed.

The first song I tested them with was "Tramp the Dirt Down" by Elvis Costello. I chose that song for no particular reason but it turned out to be very revealing. I played the intro a couple of times in each set of headphones. There wasn't a huge difference in what I was hearing. The Focals had a bit more clarity and for some reason the sound felt a bit closer to my ear (if that makes sense) but my initial thought was to hope there was more to them than this. I listened to the first vocal lines and while the Focals were certainly a better listening experience, I wasn't sure it was worth the price of admission.