The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

View Poll Results: How do you play guitar?
Privately for my own enjoyment 182 54.33%
Publicly for others, casually 78 23.28%
I'm a working musician 42 12.54%
other 33 9.85%
Voters: 335. You may not vote on this poll

Old 08-21-2020, 02:11 AM

Default Do you play publicly or privately??

Wanted to throw this question out to get a sense of how everyone here interacts with their instruments.

I would assume that anyone with general proficiency in an instrument has most likelt played a concert before, but what I'm really getting at here is whether or not there's a desire in you to actually play out, on a stage?

Do you learn your instrument for yourself as a form of self enjoyment and betterment, or as a way of bringing joy to others? Also have another option included for folks who're also working musicians.

Last edited by nchin241; 08-21-2020 at 02:17 AM.
Old 08-21-2020, 02:26 AM
Charter Member

Other.
for me the point of singing and playing guitar is to entertain others.
As a drummer, I got tired of sitting at the back watching the other guys doing it, so I wanted to sing.
To sing I needed to accompany my voice. that's why I bought a guitar.

The most satisfying place in the world for me is to be on a stage in front of an audience.

Obviously no-one is playing in public at present, and I'm starting to doubt that it'll ever happen again.
Old 08-21-2020, 03:40 AM

I play every Sunday at my church.
Old 08-21-2020, 03:45 AM

It's the age of Youtube and lately Corona. Why would anyone play publicly?

2020 Taylor 814ce DLX
2017 Taylor 414ce-R (Sold)
2015 Taylor 114ce (Sold)
Old 08-21-2020, 04:07 AM