The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 08-03-2021, 06:37 PM

Default How low can you go? Action for Strats

Greetings

I am relatively new to playing blues rock on electric guitars. I currently set up my Strat with 11-49 XLs, .012" relief at the 8th fret between frets 1 and 17, action .065-.095 e-E. Fingerboard is 7.5" radius. This is currently as low as I can get it without hearing problematic buzzing while not plugged in. How low do you go?

Extra info: I think it may be because I still play as if I have an acoustic in my hands. I posted in this forum to see if any others transitioning from acoustic to electric had the same stumbling block. Maybe I should have more confidence in the amp and less in my right hand.

Recently got a Fender Vintera '60s Strat in Lake Placid Blue and I love it. Fine way to get into electrics. However, it has not been without problems. While trying to set it up, I noticed the fingerboard didnt feel level and came with lots of relief, looked like .04"+. plus it had the fender ski jump and V shaped relief instead of a smooth curve. Truss rod was not engaged at all from the factory.

I had some extra evo fretwire on hand, and a hankering for a project anyway. Did a refret with evo, levelled a solid .02 off the first position on the board. It wasn't planar at all unstressed, but now it is.

I am confident in my ability to work on guitars since I've been able to get my 12 string down to .045"-.07", and I hit that thing hard, but I'm ok with living with higher action if I have to.

Last edited by Taylor Ham; 08-03-2021 at 06:45 PM.
Old 08-04-2021, 04:21 AM
Guitar Gourmet