The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 02-18-2021, 10:46 AM
Guest 33123

Default Ever experienced a change in gear for the worse?

Hi guys,

I was discussing this with my old guitarist friend. Back in my loud band days as a rhythm guitarist, I used my beloved Fender Am. Std. Telecaster through a 100W Marshall half stack. Set the master to 6 and the gain at 3ish and voila! Live at Leeds tone. KACHANG!

I left the loud band (regionally successful but loaded with interpersonal tensions) and moved away from my hometown. While living in Montreal I decided to purge my gear. I sold everything and took some of the money and bought a Gibson ES-335 Dot and a 22W Mesa Boogie DC-2 Studio Caliber.

I played this combo for years but I could never find my tone in it. After a while I traded away the 335 and sold the amp. My daughter was little and I had no need for an electric setup anymore.

It took time to realize that I was expecting to find that Tele/Marshall tone in my 335/Boogie combo. I had changed my sound from single coils to humbuckers and from 100Ws of EL34s to 22Ws of EL84s. No wonder I couldn't find my tone. I was expecting the wrong things from my gear.

Have you ever made a similar mistake?

Last edited by Guest 33123; 02-18-2021 at 03:16 PM.
Old 02-18-2021, 02:50 PM

Hey Doug, great thread. A little different take than yours.

I was gigging in a metal band and I had EMG 81/85s put in my Schecter and gigged that many times. I used the mid-scooped button to remove some mids on my JCM2000 TSL 100. I was the only guitarist in the band so I didn't get lost in the mix. 6 months later I pushed in that button to bring the mids back and wow, my tone improved. I didn't even realize I had lost it.
Old 02-18-2021, 02:51 PM