The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 03-10-2021, 10:28 AM

Default First build - Battling humidity.

Hi folks. I am in the middle of my first acoustic build (I've done many solid body and one semi-hollow electrics before).

I am fortunate to have access to a large woodshop (I am a woodwork teacher at a local middle school). However, the humidity in the shop hovers around 30% and I have no way to raise or lower it. I have been taking my guitar home to do some of the more humidity sensitive work on my kitchen table, which hovers around 40% humidity. I have just finished closing up the box. My top and back are glued to the sides and am now working on figuring out the neck angle and the bolt-on tenon.

My question is... aside from gluing the braces to the plates and attaching the top and back to the sides, what other jobs should I be concerned about humidity? Or is 30% okay for most things?
Old 03-10-2021, 11:02 AM

At what humidity to build depends upon the humidity levels where the finished guitar will reside. You don't state the typical range of humidities that your finished guitar will live in. Without that, one can't give a meaningful answer.

Wood shrinks as it loses moisture and expands as it absorbs moisture. While exapanding can cause the action on a guitar to rise and can make the guitar sound "off", shrinkage runs the risk of cracking wood. So, it is shrinkage that is the primary concern. For that reason, the ideal humidity at which to make a guitar is somewhat below the mean humidity levels for where the finished guitar will be kept.