The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-24-2016, 12:19 PM

Question Alvarez Masterworks for Blues

Hello, all.

I just joined AGF yesterday since I'm taking a greater interest in playing acoustic. I've been playing for about four years (during which I lost about a year of playing due to a car crash). I'm an "intermediate" player always on electric guitars.

My primary, if not only, interest (when playing guitar) is in the Blues. I've played many instruments over the years, in many genres, so now I'm content to focus only on Blues.

A few years ago I made too hasty a decision when purchasing an acoustic and ended up with a Breedlove Oregon dreadnaught, $1500. A very nice guitar but it ain't a Blues instrument. I'll be putting it up for sale, in fully mint condition.

I just ordered from Musician's Friend an open box Alvarez Masterworks MPA66. They had a choice of four open box MPA66 guitars, all at $479, so I chose the one that was clearly in better shape (near mint) than the other three. At that price, I decided that it wasn't important to consider the AP66, of which there were no open box in stock. Thus, the additional cost of the MPA66 over the AP66 was not that much. By the way, I'm a little concerned that MF had so many open box MPA66s! Why are there so many returns?

Here is my conundrum. I like everything about the all-solid mahogany Masterworks, although I must admit that what I like is only on paper. (The guitar I ordered might arrive today.) What I'm second-guessing is whether I should have also considered the MFA66, a "folk" or "OM" size instrument, just as appropriate for Blues as the parlor-size.

I'm eager to hear what any of you Blues players have to say. Thanks.

David
Old 08-24-2016, 12:51 PM

Hi there!