The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 12-02-2018, 01:24 PM

Default Buy amp or pedal/D.I.?

Hi all,

I started playing acoustic guitar again. I’ve got two Gibsons (J45 studio and a Hummingbird) and am planning to start gigging. I strum mostly and sing.

The two guitars have the L.R. baggs element uts pick-up.

What would be the best step to buy?

- AMP (like boss acoustic singer)
- pedal D.I. (like boss ad-10 or trex SoulMate acoustic)
- other pick-up with mike (L.R. baggs Anthem)

I can not buy everything at once. So what would be the best step?

Thnx for the advice!
Old 12-02-2018, 02:12 PM

I would buy a small powered speaker and a mixer first (see my signature line for my choice). It will be more powerful and more flexible than an integrated amp (pole mountable with the mixer controls conveniently nearby -- BTW if you buy a speaker stand spring for a more expensive aluminum one they are dramatically lighter). When I resumed playing out after retiring from my day job we played friends' parties and charity events for free. It was a great way to try out the equipment and refine our act. After you've played a few times and know first hand what your pickup, mixer, and speaker don't do that you want done, then revisit the guitar store.
IR Demo, read the description too: https://youtu.be/SELEE4yugjE
My duo's website and my email... [email protected]

Jon Fields
Old 12-02-2018, 03:30 PM

Do you already have a PA set up? If not I’d prioritise that. If you do have that sorted then anything else is really a personal preference. Most of your audiences won’t know if your using a Baggs Element or an all singing and dancing dual source pickup.

All in one pedals like the play acoustic work well. The tone function really improves vocal tone and the bodyrez is handy for UST pickups like yours.

Gibson Songwriter Standard EC
Lowden WL-22
Maton SRS808
Taylor AD11-SB