The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 12-01-2018, 12:23 PM
Charter Member

Default HATCHER Build: GAS Strikes Again; or, The Dangerous Allure of Cocobolo

Dear reader,
What follows is a tale of woe and weal, of one man’s struggle against that persistent adversary GAS, his inevitable defeat at its hands, and the prize of such failure: a Hatcher Greta in Cocobolo and Western Red Cedar.

My story begins properly begins around two years ago. In the course of researching a guitar that would better suit my fingerstyle playing--I had been playing a Martin HD-35 for six years and the narrow nut and saddle spacing just wasn’t quite doing it for me--I discovered the AGF. That fateful moment launched a (very enjoyable) guitar quest. Thanks to the AGF I’ve connected with a number of wonderful folks and played their lovely guitars. I’ve bought and sold some myself. (The first stirrings of GAS, yes, but a targeted GAS--for I’ve become more and more knowledgeable about what I want in a guitar even as I’ve been privileged to make music on these masterful instruments.) I’ve played the double bass for two decades so I came into this journey with some general musical sensibilities, but identifying and refining those in regard to modern lutherie has certainly been a process.

This week Mark Hatcher begins work on my guitar. This will not be your typical build thread because this is not your typical build. Indeed, it’s not so much a build as a re-build: a new soundboard, new bracing, and full refinish. There are some other changes I’ll get to in due time. For now, though, let’s look at a couple pictures of the guitar in its present form:

Some of you may recognize this instrument from its original build thread or appearance in the Classifieds once or twice. It’s also the first guitar that Mark printed a build book for so visitors to his workshop might have encountered it that way.