The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 11-29-2018, 04:28 PM

Default Recording with Mic AND Direct

Hi there, everybody!

I'm new to home recording, and I'm a singer songwriter and would love to make some music covers.

I have a AT2035, and a Scarlet Solo. I was thinking in use the microphone to capture my voice, and play with my acoustic guitar plugged. I would have 2 signals, one from the mic and other from my acoustic pickup (LR Baggs M80).

Do you guys think that I can have a good acoustic guitar sound with this method? I would blend the signals from the mic with the direct signal.

Have any of you tried this?

Thank you!
Old 11-29-2018, 05:21 PM
Guitar Gourmet

I mix concert videos and televised performances and the vast majority of them are recorded with the guitar direct. I prefer not to do studio recording with the guitar direct but I have a mic closet full of nice mics at my disposal. A man's gotta do what a man's gotta do.

Bob

THE MUSICIAN'S ROOM (my website)
Old 11-29-2018, 06:22 PM

I record myself just for fun and share some stuff on Youtube.

My thoughts are.. My Gibson acoustic can sound very good plugged in direct.
But it does end up sounding more electric than acoustic... if that makes sense.

I also have an AT2035 and it records really well.. So I suggest trying it both ways and see what you like.
Old 11-29-2018, 06:26 PM

Why don't you try it and see what you think. All that matters is how you feel about it.
Old 11-29-2018, 06:29 PM

What a co-inky-dink.

Just yesterday I posted this same Soundcloud link to address a different subject. It's a Martin parlor guitar tracked with both a Bill Lawrence magnetic pickup and a Sennheiser 416 shotgun mic about 3 feet out. The mix is about 2/3 pickup, 1/3 mic.