The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 03-27-2023, 07:10 PM

Default ball end strings - "No" from Yamaha guitars

I'm a beginner for classical guitar, I play regular acoustic guitar and banjo. Before I buy a cheap Yamaha classical guitar, I wanted to know why you can't use ball end nylon strings. I'm sure I'd get used to tying the knots after some practice, but right away I wanted to try ball end nylon strings. I contacted Yamaha guitars and they just told me "no, we don't recommend ball end strings." Why not?
Old 03-27-2023, 07:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by banjo1971 View Post
I'm a beginner for classical guitar, I play regular acoustic guitar and banjo. Before I buy a cheap Yamaha classical guitar, I wanted to know why you can't use ball end nylon strings. I'm sure I'd get used to tying the knots after some practice, but right away I wanted to try ball end nylon strings. I contacted Yamaha guitars and they just told me "no, we don't recommend ball end strings." Why not?
The sound of different brands and types of strings contribute to a wide range of tone and volume for classical guitars. Most players feel that ball end strings aren't made of top tier materials so the sound is effected negatively.

I'd be remiss if I didn't mention that it's not difficult to tie strings on. Your first time might be a bit slow, but it really is no big deal.
Old 03-27-2023, 07:50 PM

I've gotten used to tying the knots over the decades, but some swearing still is there occasionally while fiddling with it. I get better though.
Never tried the ball ends, but I really wonder if it is actually a quality issue (hard to believe) or just more a style question, like you can't wear plaid with stripes?

Youtubechannel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-M...Vbk1XI5Cy4NA7g
Old 03-28-2023, 03:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by banjo1971 View Post