The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 05-13-2019, 10:39 PM

Default Difference between acoustic amp electric guitar amp

Hi - I am fairly new to whole guitar journey. While no youngster by any stretch - still really enjoying it. I started out learning on one of guitars that all beginners are told to stay away from ... you know, the 40 dollar eBay specials that h e enough action between the strings and the body that you could slide a 2x4 between them . After some time and realizing this thing was really tough to play, I went out and got a nice use electric guitar and used amp.

I still wanted a nicer a a acoustic, so recently went out and bought myself one that happened to have electronics. So my question is - can I play it though my electric guitar amp? What really is the difference between an electric guitar amp and an acoustic one? I am thinking perhaps where an electric amp and crunch, reverb, and other sound options in acoustic one does not. An acoustic amp just amplifies in the pure sense of the word the sound that comes from acoustic guitar without anything added. Now this just an educated guess on my part, so I am all ears if someone out can educate me on this.
Thanks in advance.
Old 05-13-2019, 10:53 PM

Acoustic amps generally have flatter frequency response, clean / low gain and low distortion. Most will have a tweeter or cone the can produce higher frequencies more accurately where electrics amps do not. A lot of acoustic amps will have good EQ controls and things like phase switches and phantom power, and often times multiple channels and features like xlr line out. Acoustic can sound fine through an electric amp but much better through a acoustic amp or PA speaker.
Old 05-13-2019, 11:40 PM