The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 06-28-2016, 11:09 AM

Default Martin OM-28 vs. J-40

I am in the market for a new acoustic guitar. I'm studying music this fall with guitar as my primary instrument. I have been playing an HD-28 built by my grandfather with zebra wood back and sides; but I do not want to risk anything happening to it at school.

I have been looking at the HD-28V, M-36, J-40 and OM-28. I have basically ruled out the HD-28V, since I already have a dread. I'm not sure about the M-36, since I've seen mixed reviews on the instrument. I love the sound of the J-40, but the size seems a little cumbersome. I love the feel and high end of the OM-28, but I'm not sure how it does as a strummer.

I play many different styles. Rock, blues, bluegrass, country, contemporary Christian, Jazz etc. I finger pick, flat pick, and strum. If I was doing bluegrass, I would have to grab the dread, but I would love a do all guitar (If thats even possible). Any thoughts? I'm leaning towards the OM-28 for the moment.
Old 06-28-2016, 12:49 PM

I've got a couple of dreads that I love; both are great for rhythm and lead; one has an 1-3/4 nut. I've got an nice import OM (Guild GAD) that I like pretty well, though I don't love the neck profile. Some sort of OM-28, with a good sized voice and a somewhat chunkier neck than the Guild is on my long term list. I'd consider it my perfect rhythm, flatpick, fingerstyle guitar.
Old 06-28-2016, 12:55 PM

So if your question is whether to choose teh OM-28 and J-40, i think they both would do well as they are both balanced for a rosewood Martin.

However I own and like the J-40 because its is very balanced, something i struggle to find in Martins in general, and also has that high end 'shimmer' that you only for some reason find in 40 series Martins.