The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 07-06-2011, 10:56 PM

Default Remedial Question

What kind of simple and economic tools would I need to record in Audacity with my Laptop?

Looking to multi-track vocals and guitar.
I'm assuming I need some kind of interface and a decent mic.
Is that interface a "fire wire"? (told you I was a novice)
Basically asking for an understanding of entry level computer recording but specific product referrals would be helpful.

www.facebook.com/barefootbillymusic

http://www.youtube.com/BuddaBill
Old 07-07-2011, 04:54 AM

For recording multiple tracks at the same time you will need an interface where you can plug in more than one source, i.e. mic or instrument.

Interfaces can be USB or Firewire. Some people will claim Firewire is the only way to go, but I have a USB interface and I do not experience any problems.

There are a number of decent quality interfaces in the "beginner's" price range. Check out M-Audio, Lexicon, PreSonus and Focusrite for starters, but there are many others. Some can be as minimal as just one input while most entry-level interfaces will have two. And they can be used for instrument or mic.

YouTube (GuiTuber)
SoundCloud

My modest collection:
Hohner HGK-512 (no strings; lifted bridge)
Yamaha FG720S-12, w/ p'ups
Alvarez AJ60S, w/ p'ups
Ibanez AEB5 acoustic bass

Pickups: JBB-Electronics Prestige 330 (SBT) - finest quality at half the price

Recording gear:
Focusrite Saffire 6
MXL 990 and 991 condensor mics
Old 07-08-2011, 03:02 AM

Good advice above. My own experience with the Presonus Audiobox is that it is a very solid, easy-to-use, and relatively inexpensive interface that is perfect for someone getting into this sort of thing. Presonus appears to be very experienced at this business, and it plays nice with my computer and recording software.
Old 07-08-2011, 05:19 AM