The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 01-02-2024, 01:51 PM

Default Basics for acoustic recording?

Hi, all. New here. Looking forward to learning from you all. I am a beginner guitar player, about to start taking my first lessons this coming Sunday.

I have read online that it can be a good thing to record one's playing and then play it back, either for self or for an instructor.

For that purpose only (i.e. just for practice purposes), what are the basics for setting up a basic recording situation?

Notes
  • I would like to be able to save the recordings so that I can easily share them with an instructor if asked to do so.
  • I have multiple Apple devices (Macbook Air, iPad Pro, iPad Mini, Mac Mini) that I can incorporate, if there is a place for any of them in this.
  • I have multiple guitars, one of which has a pickup. In general though, I expect to practice most often without a pickup. I also have an electric that I *may* someday want to record from.
  • All practice would be done in a room in a house, without anything special done to make the house/room acoustically friendly. Since I am not recording for anything beyond practice purposes, I am not worried about this, but I welcome any setup recommendations that should be considered for purposes of producing a recording useful for instructor review.
  • Budget is not unlimited, but I can invest a bit in order to do it the "right" way, whatever that may be.

Thank you in advance!

Mark
Old 01-02-2024, 02:09 PM

Welcome Mark! You are absolutely right, recording yourself is essential for learning, no matter which instrument.
I would recommend an affordable Zoom recorder, like the H1N and invest the rest of your money in decent playback gear, like a set of good studio monitors and maybe a fitting subwoofer.
Old 01-02-2024, 02:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctone View Post