The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-27-2021, 12:15 PM
michaelm101 michaelm101 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: So Cal
Posts: 67
Default Fishman SA-220 Question

I'm thinking of buying a friend's SA220 for $200, but it has scratchy pot syndrome, primarily in the EQ section (as you know, a common issue with this model due to unsealed pots).

I plan on bypassing the preamp section and running my mixer into the back end via aux in or efx send.

1) Will this steer me clear of any issues related to the scratchy pot problem?

2) Will my signal still have access to the on-board reverb?

3) What is your opinion on using the SA-220 in this manner?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2021, 12:48 PM
_Mike_ _Mike_ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SouthCoast, MA
Posts: 78
Default

Can’t answer your question, but CAN tell you the procedure for cleaning the pots with canned air is pretty straightforward and relatively easy (assuming you have some mechanical aptitude).

I have an SA220 I got really cheap because one channel was dead. One $5 can of air and about 30 minutes and it was working again.

I’ll send you the instructions if you pm me an email.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2021, 12:55 PM
RogerPease's Avatar
RogerPease RogerPease is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 421
Default

Based on my SA330x:

1) Yes, but see answer 3.
2) Nope.
3) Sure you can do that, but just fix it. Not hard and then you can use it any way you want.

Cheers, _Roger
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2021, 02:02 PM
michaelm101 michaelm101 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: So Cal
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Mike_ View Post
Can’t answer your question, but CAN tell you the procedure for cleaning the pots with canned air is pretty straightforward and relatively easy (assuming you have some mechanical aptitude).

I have an SA220 I got really cheap because one channel was dead. One $5 can of air and about 30 minutes and it was working again.

I’ll send you the instructions if you pm me an email.
Here are some details from the owner:

"But first, I want to make sure you are fine without being able to use the three tone controls. Useless, of course, you get it repaired.

I fired it up again this morning and there is definitely too much noise when you engage any one of the three tone controls. I also noticed that the channel two “clipping” light stays lit red even when only using channel one. I don’t why."


Any comments on this is greatly appreciated...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2021, 02:42 PM
YamahaGuy YamahaGuy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ohio the heart of it all
Posts: 3,035
Default

I work with a semi pro musician who has the SA220 and he's always dreading the day it fails on him. Personally, I'd go another route.

$200 to use it as a powered speaker seems like a bust to me.

If you know for a fact you could get both the scratchy pots on channel 1, and the clip light on channel 2 fixed, then it's a good deal.
__________________
As my username suggests, huge fan of Yamaha products. Own many acoustic-electric models from 2009-present and a couple electric. Lots of PA too.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2021, 02:57 PM
michaelm101 michaelm101 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: So Cal
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YamahaGuy View Post
I work with a semi pro musician who has the SA220 and he's always dreading the day it fails on him. Personally, I'd go another route.

$200 to use it as a powered speaker seems like a bust to me.

If you know for a fact you could get both the scratchy pots on channel 1, and the clip light on channel 2 fixed, then it's a good deal.
This is my dialogue with Fishman:

Hello Gary- Will this compressed air procedure remedy the following issues?:

This is what the owner said:

"I fired it up again this morning and there is definitely too much noise when you engage any one of the three tone controls.

I also noticed that the channel two “clipping” light stays lit red even when only using channel one. I don’t why."

==============================================

Hi Michael,

Its a really good shot that it will.

The Pots have an opening so stuff can collect in there and cause this to happen.

Thanks,

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-27-2021, 07:01 PM
YamahaGuy YamahaGuy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ohio the heart of it all
Posts: 3,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelm101 View Post
This is my dialogue with Fishman:

Hello Gary- Will this compressed air procedure remedy the following issues?:

This is what the owner said:

"I fired it up again this morning and there is definitely too much noise when you engage any one of the three tone controls.

I also noticed that the channel two “clipping” light stays lit red even when only using channel one. I don’t why."

==============================================

Hi Michael,

Its a really good shot that it will.

The Pots have an opening so stuff can collect in there and cause this to happen.

Thanks,

Gary
Roll the dice 🎲. Pro level gear is pro level gear. I've bought several used pro level speakers that I've had [and still work like new] for 7+ years now.
__________________
As my username suggests, huge fan of Yamaha products. Own many acoustic-electric models from 2009-present and a couple electric. Lots of PA too.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-27-2021, 07:26 PM
michaelm101 michaelm101 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: So Cal
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YamahaGuy View Post
Roll the dice 🎲. Pro level gear is pro level gear. I've bought several used pro level speakers that I've had [and still work like new] for 7+ years now.
Will do. I'll report back here with the results...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-27-2021, 07:49 PM
RogerPease's Avatar
RogerPease RogerPease is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 421
Default

Assuming Fishman still supports the SA220 they will sell you a new part
for $50 plus shipping. You’ll have to send them your current preamp board
first. But try the fix first to see if that works. If not you have the option
to contact them again. You have to get an RMA number.

Hope this helps. _Roger
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-28-2021, 10:50 AM
michaelm101 michaelm101 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: So Cal
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerPease View Post
Assuming Fishman still supports the SA220 they will sell you a new part
for $50 plus shipping. You’ll have to send them your current preamp board
first. But try the fix first to see if that works. If not you have the option
to contact them again. You have to get an RMA number.

Hope this helps. _Roger
Yes, this certainly helps in my dice-roll and gives me a reasonably priced plan "B."

Thanks very much for adding this valuable tidbit!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-31-2021, 07:24 AM
gfirob gfirob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Central Vermont
Posts: 901
Default

I have a used SA220 and I have always used it with a mixer into the back of the amp, which works fine, then each channel's volume is adjusted from the mixer right next to me and I ignore the front of the amp. I also developed a problem with scratchy pot and Fishman sent me very detailed instructions with photographs to fix it and it has never been a problem since. These are great amps and the introduction of the 330 has really dropped the price on used 220's.
__________________
2003 Martin OM-42, K&K's
1932 National Style O, K&K's
1936 Kalamazoo KG-14, K&K's
1957 National 1155 (Gibson J45 body, National neck) K&K's
1967 Gretsch 6120 Chet Atkins Nashville
2005 Warmoth Telecaster, Lindy Fralins
Ear Trumpet Labs Edwina
Tonedexter
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-01-2021, 02:19 AM
michaelm101 michaelm101 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: So Cal
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfirob View Post
I have a used SA220 and I have always used it with a mixer into the back of the amp, which works fine, then each channel's volume is adjusted from the mixer right next to me and I ignore the front of the amp. I also developed a problem with scratchy pot and Fishman sent me very detailed instructions with photographs to fix it and it has never been a problem since. These are great amps and the introduction of the 330 has really dropped the price on used 220's.
Thanks for that last piece of info-I think that's the way I'll be using it- with mixer right next to me..
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Thread Tools





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=