The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 11-19-2020, 03:47 PM
Charter Member

Default give up on electric? Or just get a better one?

Summary: I bought an Ibanez AF75-FM a couple of years ago to give electric a try, but it didn’t take. Do I need a better guitar to give it a fair shake? Or should I accept that the guitar is fine but there’s a non-trivial learning curve transitioning to electric, so I should just decide whether I want to put in the effort?

A bit more detail:

I’ve been playing for 50+ years and have at most 10 total hours in on electrics. My playing tends toward bluegrass, old time, classic country, folk, etc., plus pop stuff that lends itself to acoustic guitar. I’m primarily a singer who plays to accompany myself and others. Can play fairly complex finger style stuff, but not good at all at flat picked leads. I do play out occasionally but mostly just get together with a group of friends or for my own amusement.

Nothing I play requires electric, but I wanted to make sure I’m not missing out on something. So a couple of years ago I decided to give electric a try and bought myself an inexpensive try out guitar. Ibanez AF75-FM. I’d say at most 4 of those ten total hours playing electric were with this one. So you can see it didn’t exactly take.

My reactions to the Ibanez - plays OK and feels fine. Seems to be OK when amplified and adequate for practicing when not. Never seems to stay in tune. Even when in tune with strings open, never seems to sound right when I play something. Fretted notes frequently seem off.