The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 05-10-2012, 08:08 AM

Default Love my SoloAmp but I think I am running into its limits

Hey Folks, A day doesn't go by without discussion of the compact PA's vs full PA's so I need to make sure the sun sets appropriately tonight.

I have been playing out at coffee shops, beer tasting rooms, and more recently patios/outdoor events. I started playing with 3 other guys (vocals, guitars, mandolin, bass, congas/percussion). We are not the tightest musical group with 4 people/not a lot of practice but everyone is capable. We've been trying to find our groove but things get real muddy in my opinion. We would put a few acoustics and vocal into the Soloamp (it did fine) and the bass through its own amp (congas unamped).

A friend and I broke off and started playing more ourselves and despite the fact that he isnt the most talented in our group our sounds are a lot better (less is more). He has another friend who showed interest in playing with us - a guy who went to school for percussion, teaches music, and plays congas (hallelujah - a real percussionist !).

So I thought by toning down the group with just vocals / 2 guitars or guitar + mando and congas the Soloamp would be better. It does ok but im not really using it the way it was intended and I really want to mic up the congas because the guy is so good (plays congas and shakers all at once). I have a small cheap mixer going to the soloamp but I also make use of a Boomerang looper so the Soloamps headroom disappears quickly.

I think the next logical choice would be a QSC K8 and something like a Zed10FX. I would start with one and add if ever needed. I really like the size/weight and slightly wider dispersion.