The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-20-2020, 09:36 AM

Default GAS in early stages

I am teaching one of my friend's kid (22) who just started playing the guitar, he's been self-taught for about 1 month now and when I went to teach him online I saw that he is already using a Collings guitar that he bought on reverb.

Although expensive, I personally think it's okay if it keeps him motivated to continue playing. What are your guys thoughts of beginners using high-end gears?
Old 09-20-2020, 09:44 AM

There are a few thoughts that come to mind:

If someone, regardless of experience level or dedication factor, is getting a great deal on a guitar which could easily be sold to break even financially down the road, then buy whatever the budget supports.

On the other hand, if someone is just starting out, has a track record of starting something and giving up within a few months, and is buying an expensive / boutique guitar at full retail, that's where issues come into play.

I do think owning and playing a really nice guitar is a good motivator to keep one playing. I know I'm more likely to pick up a nice boutique guitar versus something like a cheap plywood acoustic. It's a more enjoyable experience, and the feelings associated with owning an iconic Martin or a boutique Collings are pleasant in their own right.
Old 09-20-2020, 10:14 AM

My experience has been that it took me a while to develop the ear and playing skill necessary to distinguish good from acceptable and great from good. I can really appreciate the tone and playability of my Martin now, because I learned on a very low end beater family guitar decades ago and slowly worked up to better instruments.

Also there have been discussions here about "unforgiving" guitars that require some skill to get the best sound out of them. These tend to be the high end and custom brands.