The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 01-31-2023, 05:00 AM

Default Setting up Bose s1, Art Dual Pre and Guitar + Mic: Noob advice please

Hi all, I would really appreciate some advice on this as I have very little knowledge about this stuff.

I've just bought a Bose S1 Pro and also an Art Dual Pre - as I read on here it might be needed to get more volume out of the speaker. I am connecting to a Shure SM58 mic and a basic Fender electro-acoustic, also have a Fender Acoustic Overdrive pedal that needs connecting too, and I might want to add in a line-out to an Alto 8'' powered speaker. However, I'm new to the Bose (and amplification in general), I've never used a pre-amp or a guitar pedal, the connections confuse me and I'm a bit lost as to what I need to do.

So could someone please describe in basic terms what is the best practice for connecting all this together.

Some key questions:
1) If I plug the mic into the Left input of the Art Pre and the guitar into the Right input, does the left and right output on the back of the Art Pre keep those separated? or does it blend them together? i.e. do i then put the Left output into channel 1 on the Bose and set it to the 'mic' tone setting, and the right output into channel 2 on the Bose and set it to the 'guitar' setting?
2) What type of leads is best to connect the output of the Art Pre to the Bose? TS or TRS to the same or to XLR (the bose takes either, the Art Pre outputs are just 1/4-inch jacks)
3) Do I need both the mic and the guitar to go through the Art Pre? The mic does sound quiet just going into the Bose, the guitar is a bit louder
4) If I do run the guitar through the Art Pre as well as the mic, does the guitar pedal go 'before' the Art Pre, or 'after'?
5) When running the additional speaker (alto 8-inch) from the output of the Bose should I be using a TS to XLR or TLS to XLR?