The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-03-2011, 11:42 PM

Default Simple Home Recording Studio (WARNING: Complete Newbie Here)

Hey all,

Joined back in 2010 and bought a guitar through the classifieds and had a great experience. Decided to revisit this forum and see if I could get some useful information.

I'm looking to set up a very simple (budget) home recording studio. At this point, the only thing I have are a couple of guitars and a mac (logic). As far as I understand, I would need to get the following to get started.
  • Recording mic
  • Small mixer

I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a good budget mic and a decent 4-8 channel mixer I can get. Any suggestions as to what else I would need to get kicked off would be a plus.

Also wondering if it's better to get a USB mic or something else. It's very important to me that I get a good quality mic!
Old 09-04-2011, 12:03 AM
Charter Member

You don't really need a mixer if you're using logic. It mixes in the software. You need an audio interface and preamp(s) to support however many channels you need to record at the same time. The audio interface will get the audio into the computer (and presumably play it back). Logic will handle it from there.
Old 09-04-2011, 12:48 AM

Thanks for your response. Can you recommend any specific brands of each? I was looking at the Audio Technica AT2020 USB as a possible option so I can use it on my iPad as well with Garage Band.

I don't know anything about preamps. Any suggestions on specific brands, models etc? Something for a beginner/budget friendly.
Old 09-04-2011, 01:48 AM
Charter Member

If you can explain what you want to do, people can probably help more. What are you recording? How many tracks at one time do you need to record? A USB mic should work fine with garageband, no preamp required. But that's just one mic. Is that all you need?
Old 09-04-2011, 11:23 AM